Welcome to the UK Healthy Cities Network

The UK Healthy Cities Network is part of a global movement for urban health that is led and supported by the World Health Organization (WHO). Its vision is to develop a creative, supportive and motivating network for UK cities and towns that are tackling health inequalities and striving to put health improvement and health equity at the core of all local policies.

Healthy Cities is a global movement that engages local authorities and their partners in health development through a process of political commitment, institutional change, capacity-building, partnership-based planning and innovative projects. Healthy Cities seek to apply Health for All principles such as equity, empowerment, intersectoral collaboration and community participation through local action in urban settings.Within Europe there are more than a 100 Healthy Cities and 30 National Healthy Cities Networks with designated status from WHO Europe.

Membership is open to Towns, Cities, District and Borough Councils and Local Authorities including those that are two tier.

>> more about the UK Healthy Cities Network

Getting Started

New to Healthy Cities and the Network? This section of the website will tell you all you need to know about the Network and how to begin your Healthy City journey.

Sub-groups and Collaborations

The Network has a number of sub-groups and collaborations that focus on a particular theme or topic. This section includes information about Network themes and how to get involved. 

Resources

Our resources section includes Network resources such as briefings, guidance documents and case studies submitted by Network members. It also provides links to relevant external resources and websites.

Meetings

This section includes details of Network and Steering Group meetings along with the associated papers which are available for download.



Network Members

Click on green dots to find out more about cities

Preston


Gulab Singh MBE
Adult Services and Public Health
Lancashire County Council
gulab.singh@lancashire.gov.uk

 

View Brochure

Leeds


Lisa Gibson
Health Improvement Specialist Local Government
The Leeds Initiative
Leeds City Council
Lisa.gibson@leeds.gov.uk

Visit website

Visit microsite

Nottingham


Sharan Jones
Health and Wellbeing Manager
Nottingham City Council
sharan.jones@nottinghamcity.gov.uk

Visit microsite

Bristol


Stephen Hewitt
Healthy Urban Team
Bristol City Council/NHS Bristol
stephen.hewitt@bristol.gov.uk

Visit microsite

Belfast


Jonna Monaghan
Senior Health Development Officer
Belfast Health Cities
jonna@belfasthealthycities.com

Visit website

View Brochure

Glasgow


Russell Jones
Public Health Programme Manager
Glasgow Centre for Population Health
russell.jones@glasgow.gov.uk

View Brochure

Sheffield


Natalie Pugh
Healthy Cities Partnership Team
Sheffield First Health & Wellbeing Partnership 
natalie.pugh@sheffield.gov.uk

View Brochure

Brighton and Hove


Annie Alexander
Public Health Programme Manager
NHS Brighton and Hove
annie.alexander@brighton-hove.gov.uk

Visit website

View Brochure

East Lancashire Health and Wellbeing Partnership


Hira Miah
Public Health Co-ordinator
Lancashire County Council
Public Health, Adult Services, Health & Wellbeing
hira.miah@lancashire.gov.uk

Liverpool


Sandra Davies
Associate Director of Public Health
Liverpool City Council
Sandra.Davies@liverpool.gov.uk

View Brochure

Stoke On Trent


Judy Kurth
Healthy City Manager
Stoke City Council
judy.kurth@stoke.gov.uk

Visit website

View Brochure

Cardiff


Susan Toner
Principal Health Promotion Specialist
Public Health Wales
susan.toner@wales.nhs.uk

Visit website

View Brochure

Sunderland


Karen Graham
Assistant Policy Lead for Health
Sunderland City Council
karen.graham@sunderland.gov.uk

Visit website

View Brochure

Carlisle


Darren Crossley
Deputy Chief Executive
Carlisle City Council
Darren.crossley@carlisle.gov.uk

Visit website

View Brochure

Newcastle


Helen Wilding
Wellbeing for Life Development Lead
Newcastle City Council
helen.wilding@newcastle.gov.uk

Visit website

View Brochure

Swansea


Nina Williams
Consultant in Public Health Medicine
Swansea and Bridgend - Public Health Wales
nina.williams@wales.nhs.uk

Visit website

Visit microsite

View Brochure

Derry Londonderry


Eamon O'Kane
Director
Derry Healthy Cities
Eamon@derryhc.com

Visit website

View Brochure

Portsmouth


Rimple Poonia
Senior Manager, Health Improvement
& Development Service
Portsmouth City Council
rimple.poonia@portsmouthcc.gov.uk

 

East Staffordshire


Sal Khan
Head of Service Commissioning,
East Staffordshire Borough Council
sal.khan@eaststaffsbc.gov.uk

 

Warrington


Dr Muna Abdel Aziz
Consultant in Public Health Medicine
Warrington Borough Council
mabdelaziz@warrington.gov.uk

Visit microsite

Norwich


Jonathon Fagge
Deputy Chief Officer /
Director of Operations & Clinical Transformation
Norwich City Council
jonathon.fagge@nhs.net

Visit microsite

Sandwell


Paul Southon
Public Health Development Manager
Sandwell MBC
Paul.southon@sandwell.gov.uk

Visit microsite

Chorley


Simon Clark
Head of Health Environment and Neighbourhoods
Chorley Borough Council
Simon.clark@chorley.gov.uk

Visit microsite

Cumbria


Colin Cox
Assistant Director, Health and Wellbeing/
Director of Public Health
Cumbria County Council
colin.cox@cumbria.gov.uk

Lancashire


Gulab Singh MBE
Adult Services and Public Health
Lancashire County Council
gulab.singh@lancashire.gov.uk

Tamworth


Mr Rob Barnes
Director of Health and Housing
Tamworth Borough Council
Rob-barnes@tamworth.gov.uk

Visit website

Chelmsford


Paul Brookes
Public Health & Protection Services Manager
Chelmsford City Council
Paul.brookes@chelmsford.gov.uk

Visit microsite

Wakefield


John Wilcox
Health Improvement Specialist – Engagement and Capacity Building
Wakefield Council
johnwilcox@wakefield.gov.uk



The UK Healthy Cities Network is an accredited member of the WHO European Healthy Cities Programme

Searching For Cases

Searcing For Results